Development Update - 05/16/2012

Mycal

Staff member
I've started typing this up about 8 different times and each time, either didn't finish it or started rambling. So I'm going to start over and keep it short and sweet.

I've got about 10 days to decide the direction I want to go with Odyssey. I've been working on an ASP version of the website which will make server/client->website interaction so much simpler and is much easier to work with than PHP. However, since I am an ASP newbie, it's taking me a lot longer to get anything off the ground. If I can get basic website accounts working fine then I can move onto client/server secure authentication. If I can get this done in a few days, then all of my websites may move to a new server that is windows based. If I can't, I will have to scrap what I've done and write it in PHP, which is feasible, but takes longer due to the nature of PHP. Alternatively, if I can find a cheap enough host, or make proper use of my Azure hosting that I have for free, I'll just move servers for Odyssey and leave everything else here at Bluehost.

Either way, I need to make a decision fast since my hosting is about to expire here with Bluehost.

Anyway, that's what is currently going on and I'll make sure to post updates whenever I get something working on that end. I have a lot of things relating to server conversion swirling around in my head that's troubling me, so I'm probably going to have to sit down and just hammer those out to figure out all use case scenarios.

Mycal

Staff member
I think I have worked through all issues with converting a server's players. Since we are using master accounts instead of local accounts with the new version of Odyssey, there were some issues I saw with the players. I'll talk a little about them below.

Base use case scenario:
A server owner (SO) runs 3 different servers. Each server has about 100 maps, 10 scripts, 2 gods, and 10+ players.