November 4, 2008

Mycal

Staff member
So it's been quite awhile since my last post. However, I feel I need to make a few updates. I made a bad decision a couple of months back when I decided to put everything on hold while I assess on whether I can port parts of this project to another language. I spent much of my freetime at school trying to convert some simple core components to C++. Mainly, I was trying to port over the graphics engine. I wanted to build a very fast reusable library but ultimately have failed. I am still new to the language and it was a very daunting task to begin with.

During this time, I was also fighting a major bout of depression for many reasons. One, I took a big load of classes this semester and it proved too much. I dropped my physics course (as well as the lab and recitation) and thought I was going to be fine afterwards. Then I began having trouble with my Digital Logics class. I've heard several times that many software guys have problems with hardware and vice versa. I never thought this to be true until now. Much of the stuff in this class, I just can't get a firm understanding on. One, the professor is not that good. I can barely hear him no matter how close I am to him. He mumbles a lot. Two, the book is terrible. I can't make any sense of anything in the book. It skips explaining things and giving examples, for a whole bunch of theroms and postulates. Anyway, I still think I can pass this class, but I'm having to work really hard at it. However, because of the problems with the economy right now, my family is kind of in a crisis about their jobs. I'm not going to go fully into it, but it's put a ton of stress on me. I am in desperate need of finding ANY job, but no one seems to be hiring, despite the upcoming holidays. So I got all that going for me too.